Erasmus Charter for Higher Education

Institutions must hold a valid Erasmus Charter for Higher Education (ECHE) in order to participate in Erasmus+.

What is the Erasmus Charter for Higher Education?

The Erasmus Charter for Higher Education provides the quality framework for Erasmus+ funded activities carried out by an institution.

Erasmus+ aims support the European modernisation and internationalisation agenda in higher education, in particular the quality of student and staff mobility. By signing an ECHE, an institution confirms that its participation in Erasmus+ is part of its own strategy for modernisation and internationalisation.

Who can apply?

The ECHE is a pre-requisite for all institutions wishing to participate in Erasmus+.  If your institution is a recognised or listed body you are eligible to apply for an ECHE, providing you offer courses at foundation/HND level or above. It is open to all types of institutions, regardless of the academic disciplines and levels of higher education (up to and including doctorates) which they offer. Post-secondary level vocational education institutions may also participate.

A Call for proposals for the award of the ECHE is held annually. The publication of the Call for Proposals is scheduled for February 2017, and the next deadline to apply will be in March 2017. The ECHE is awarded for the full remaining duration of the Erasmus+ programme (i.e. until 2020), and therefore institutions which already hold the ECHE do not need to re-apply each year. You can see the current list of ECHE holders on the Executive Agency's website.

How to apply

Further information for submitting applications for the ECHE Call can be found on the Executive Agency's website.

Award of the Erasmus Charter for Higher Education 

The final decision on the award of the Charter or rejection of the application is taken by the European Commission on the basis of the recommendations of the ECHE Evaluation Committee, composed of a panel of European Commission and Executive Agency officials. Further details can be found on the EACEA website.