How is it run?

The Erasmus+ programme is a European Union (EU) funding programme which runs from 2014 – 2020. Erasmus+ is managed at European level by the European Commission and is divided into two parts: decentralised and centralised activities.

Centralised activities are delivered at a European-level across all participating countries by the European Commission’s Executive Agency which is based in Brussels. Find out more about the management of Erasmus+ at European level.

Decentralised activities are delivered at national level by a network of organisations known as National Agencies. National Agencies are themselves overseen by National Authorities, government departments responsible for ensuring the programme is delivered in their countries. Find out more about Erasmus+ in the UK.

The Erasmus+ programme runs across all EU Member States, European Free Trade Area/European Economic Area countries and some candidate countries. These are known as Programme Countries, and all of them have National Agencies. Other countries, known as Partner Countries, can also participate in the programme though to a more limited extent. You can find out more about these countries on our participating countries page.

Looking for more information on the programme and its funding? Read our page all about Erasmus+.

Erasmus+ in the UK
How is Erasmus+ managed and governed in the UK?
Erasmus+ at European level
About the Executive Agency, DGEAC, and how it works.
Participating countries
Which countries can participate in Erasmus+?